Start Well

Posted on Wednesday.5.6.2009

5


start_left_blocks

I read a great John Maxwell article about how to get on the right start successfully. I thought it was a great resource for 20-30 somethings, like myself, to learn the steps that we want to make towards success. He does say though that if you are 40+ that it doesnt exclude you from his principles, but states that it may be more difficult since “an old dog doesnt easily learn new tricks.”

He sums up 10 areas that young leaders should address:

1. Know yourself
2. Settle your family life
3. Determine your priorities
4. Develop your philosophy of life
5. Get physically fit
6. Learn your trade
7. Pay the price
8. Develop solid relationships
9. Prepare for the future
10. Find purpose for your life

Not sure if they’re in any kind of order but I think these are some really key areas that any person who wants to be successful can start thinking about. I encourage you to read the full article (link above) as he talks more about the stages of putting this in practice. Here are some guiding questions:

– When it comes to knowing yourself, most people think they do, “I know who I am.”  Very few think they need to work on it. A lot of 20-30 somethings have the “I’m just the way I am, love it or leave it” syndrome. There’s no room for growth there. Ask some good friends/coworkers to assess your strengths and weaknesses.
– Do you have priorities? Is there an order to what you spend time on or do you simply let life come to you? If one of your priorities is to lose weight, does your life reflect that?
– Is it important to be physically fit? Do you agree with this? Why…
– I love the idea of learning your trade. Maybe you don’t care about what you’re doing and you dont want to learn it. Then maybe you would need to reassess your priorities. If you’re young enough, there’s a good chance you can change careers without significant ramifications. Why not learn a trade that you enjoy, maybe not even love, but are willing to get better at and achieve a high level of expertise.
– What does it mean to pay the price for a young leader? 3 years, 5 years, 20 years? Everyone’s heard of this before, but who’s willing to do it and for how long?
– What can you do today to achieve your future goals? Some of us say, well one day when I’m 55 and I have money, then I’ll ________ you fill in the blank. It can be helping the poor, making a difference, spending more time with people, starting a business…what can you commit to right now? I can’t imagine it getting easier when I’m older.

What takeaways did you get from the article or the 10 areas?

Posted in: success